John Anson Ford Human Relations Awards

Named for a long-time human relations leader in Los Angeles County, since 1972 the annual John Anson Ford Human Relations Awards have identified and honored human relations champions.  Each year, nominees for seven awards are considered. Five of the awards are for outstanding human relations projects and programs throughout the County — one for each of the five County Supervisorial Districts. In addition, the John Allen Buggs Leadership Award honors a public official for human relations advocacy and leadership. And the Yvonne B. Burke Courage Award honors an individual for bold, dauntless action to advance human relations. Our awards program includes a presentation of JAF awardees by the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors and a reception for awardees, guests, friends, civic leaders, and community partners.

Past John Anson Ford Human Relations Awards Recipients